Lacey Historical Commission Accepting 2024 Historian of the Year Nominations


Submitted by City of Lacey

In celebration of Lacey History Month in May, the Lacey Historical Commission is accepting nominations for the 2024 Ken Balsley Lacey Historian of the Year Award, now through Monday, April 1, 2024.

Nomination forms are available online at and at City Hall at the Lacey Parks, Culture, and Recreation Department, 420 College Street SE. The Lacey Historical Commission will consider award candidates at their regular meeting on Wednesday, April 17, 2024 at 6 p.m. The public may attend the meeting in person at Lacey City Hall or online via Zoom.

Established in 2002, the award recognizes local community members and organizations that have made significant contributions to the preservation or promotion of Lacey’s history. The 2023 winner will join a distinguished group of recipients, including Shirley Dziedzic (2002), Roger Easton and the Lacey Women’s Club (2003), Dr. William Ehlers (2004), Andrea Taylor (2005), Lyman Fleetwood (2007), Lanny Weaver (2010), Matthew Connor (2011), Diane Dean (2012), Susan Goff (2013), Richard Jones (2014), Ken Balsley (2015), Lori Flemm (2016), Nora Brown and Amy Turner (2017), Marisa Merkel (2020), Seth Huff (2022), and Dr. Thelma Jackson (2023).

In 2023, the award was renamed in recognition of the late Ken Balsley’s passion for Lacey history.

For more information on the Historian of the Year program, Lacey History Month, or the Lacey Historical Commission, please call the Lacey Parks, Culture, and Recreation Department at 360.491.0857.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email