Thurston Chamber Announces 2015 Boss of the Year Honorees

red lion hotel


Submitted by the Thurston County Chamber of Commerce

The Thurston County Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the sixth annual Boss of the Year honorees.  Co-sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, this award recognizes outstanding individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership in the workplace through innovation, communication, vision, and performance.

The 2015 honorees are: Ron Bruchet, GHB Insurance; Melissa Jenkins, The Olympian; and Meagan Darrow, TOGETHER!

Honorable mentions include: Ed Schilter, KMB designs group, inc.; Jim Haley, Thurston First Bank; and Dr. Gene Sharratt, Washington Student Achievement Council.

Over 20 bosses from non-profit organizations to state agencies to private sector companies were nominated by their employees.

Again this year, Saint Martin’s University business students played an important role in the selection process by interviewing finalists and gathering data for the selection committee.  “This is a wonderful opportunity for our students to meet with exceptional business leaders in the community and to also learn more about what truly defines leadership in the workplace,” says Richard Beer, Ph.D., dean of the School of Business.

Bruchet, Jenkins, and Darrow join a group of past honorees, including:

Steve Hall, the City of Olympia
Dr. Yong Liu, State Department of Agriculture
Rae-Lynn Bidon, Olympia Orthopaedic Associates
Joseph Di Santo, Panorama
Heidi West, America’s Credit Union
Dr. Terrence Hess, Foot & Ankle Surgical Associates
Steve Brooks, Lacey Fire District 3
Jessica Jensen, Jessica Jensen Law PS
Joe Ingoglia, Boys & Girls Club of Thurston County
Mariella Cummings, Physicians of Southwest Washington
Robert Coit, Thurston County Food Bank
Mike Harbour, Intercity Transit
Mike Strub, LOTT Clean Water Alliance
Bruce Cramer, O Bee Credit Union
John Setterstrom, Lucky Eagle Casino

The recognition event will take place on Wednesday, December 9 at the Red Lion Hotel Olympia beginning at 11:30am with a lunch buffet and recognition program starting at 12pm.  To make a reservation to attend, register online at



Print Friendly, PDF & Email