Tenino PTA Reflections Art Competition

Superintendent Pickett congratulates Reflections participants from Parkside Elementary

This past Thursday, the Tenino PTA held an awards presentation for the 2010-2011 national “Reflections” art competition. Students from the Tenino school district participated in the event by entering individual art pieces in either visual arts, photography, literature, musical composition, film/video and dance/choreography.  Submissions were categorized into 4 groups: Primary (preschool – 2nd grade), Intermediate (3rd-5th grade), Junior (6th-8th grade) and Senior (9th-12th grade).  The theme for this year was “Together We Can”. 

Among the many participants, the following were selected by judges to move on to the State competition: Primary- Brieanna Dell, Randy Marti, Ethaniel Rasmussen, Olivia Hisaw, Alex Luevano and Nicholas Beckford. Intermediate- Cutter Copeland, Alyssa Stender, Rhian Mathis and Faith Rogers. Junior- Amelia Hisaw and Madison Heay. More awards were given out in the Primary and Intermediate divisions as there were no entries this year from the High School. Out of the 191 entries, 4 came from the Middle School, 6 from the Elementary School and 175 from Parkside.  All of the division winners and particpants were awarded ribbons from Parkside Prinicpal Brock Williams, Elementary Principal David Ford and Superintendant Russell Pickett. High School Vice Principal Rich Staley was also in attendance. 

As an artist myself, it was an honor to assist with the judging for this competition. I would like to thank fellow judges: Mari Evans, Deborah Clintworth, Brooke Hart, Betsy Wellings, John Ellis, Ryan Williams and Hal Williams for extending their eyes and ears and participating with the difficult task  of judging the various wonderful enteries. I would also like to thank the Tenino PTA for overseeing this event and making it a success! 

Information about next years theme can be found by contacting your child’s school or PTA at the end of the school year which will allow for participants to work throughout the summer on their entry. 

2010/2011 award participants advancing to State competition
Print Friendly, PDF & Email