The League of Women Voters Thurston County Elects New Leadership

Submitted by League of Women Voters Thurston County

The League of Women Voters Thurston County (LWVTC) conducted their annual meeting on May 19, 2022. Members of the League received updates on critical programs the League is conducting for water, equity and inclusion, local good governance, and the leagues’ tribal position study.

The evening culminated with the election of new officers for the 2022 to 2024 terms.

  • Darlene Hein, Co-President
  • Karen Tvedt, Co-President (2022-2023)
  • Shelley Kneip, Vice President
  • Shari Silverman, Elected Director
  • Kathy Varney, Elected Director

Newly elected co-president Darlene Hein said, “This is an exciting time for the League. Our mission of advocacy and education for voters has never been more important.” Co-president Karen Tvedt, who has led the League for two tumultuous years during the pandemic agrees and is eager for the upcoming voting season. “The League will once again be hosting our Candidate Forums and we are very excited about our programs for young people. These are important to our mission to educate the public on the issues that face our county.”

The League of Women Voters encourages you to Be A Voter to make sure your voice is heard.

About The League of Women Voters of Thurston County

The League of Women Voters is committed to informed and active participation in government, increasing understanding of major public policy issues, and influencing public policy through education and advocacy. A non-partisan organization, the League never supports candidates for office or political parties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email